Skip to content

Coco Chai Rooibos from Mighty Leaf (is delicious!)

April 25, 2009

If ever there was a tea that had been a dessert in its past life, it would be Coco Chai from Mighty Leaf. If you ever have the chance to try this, do it!

Anyone who’s followed my tea reviews or knows of my tea habits knows that I’m not a big fan of rooibos. I’d much rather sip on some real tea than herbal funk concoctions (as I call them). To my surprise, I was absolutely delighted by this (really pretty) herbal mix of rooibos, coconut, red peppercorns, ginger, cinnamon and cardamon. Well, almost.

Coco Chai

My first steeping of Coco Chai was alright. It is very spicy without being overpowering. I usually don’t like pepper in my tea but the whole red peppercorns are so much smoother than ground black pepper. The coconut flavors are very nice and balanced with the tea. The tea is good but nothing to write home about. I wasn’t even going to give it a second try…

Coco Chai

The next day, I kept smelling the tea as I walked through the kitchen. It was enticing! I just had to try again. This time I went the normal “chai latte” route and added agave nectar and a bit of milk. It was amazing; So amazing that John and I gulped down a pot of it in about 15 minutes then went to make another. All I kept saying was, “Oh my God, this is so gooooood!”

The added sweetener and milk give this tea a dessert quality almost like a spice cake. I think it brings out more of the sweetness of the coconut and rounds out all of the spices – my feelings toward a tea have never been changed so much just from adding sweetener and some milk.

The only thing that disappoints me about this tea is that the second steeping is really weak and that I have run out of it! I will definitely be ordering more of this. Because there’s no caffeine in rooibos, I can drink all of this I want after work without being kept up all night. I also don’t have to feel guilty about it because one cup with some milk and agave nectar is only about 70 calories (depending on how much is added). So I can have my cake and drink it too! (Wow, that was cheeeesy.)

Coco Chai

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 13, 2009 12:03 pm

    That does sound good. I don’t usually like Rooibos either, but it sounds like this one might be worth a try. I like to drink Chai (spiced Indian tea) made with milk and honey.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 676 other followers

